Academic Responsibility

The University makes a distinction between acts of academic irresponsibility and other conduct which may subject an individual to disciplinary action. To avoid confrontation between a student and professor, encourage consistency of recommended penalties, and protect the rights of individuals, charges of academic irresponsibility are handled by the Board of Review on Academic Responsibility.

The Board of Review on Academic Responsibility is made up of at least ten faculty members selected by the Committee on Instruction and students drawn from the membership of the Community Judicial Board. The Board is served by an associate registrar as a non-voting secretary. The faculty members serve staggered three-year terms. A faculty member who has been on the Board for at least one year may serve as chair of a Board panel.

Each case of alleged academic irresponsibility is heard by a five-member panel composed of three faculty members who do not have the accused student(s) in class in the current semester and two students who do not know the student; every effort is made to secure gender representation on each Board panel. Upon receiving a case, the Associate Dean will ask the Registrar's Office to schedule a meeting of a Board panel.

The faculty members of the Board of Review for 2014-2015 are:

Mihai Banciu, Management
Morgan Benowitz-Fredericks, Biology
Beth Duckles, Sociology
Emily Geist, Mechanical Engineering
Richard Henne-Ochoa, Education
Sarah Manoogian, Mechanical Engineering
Skip McGoun, Management
Lakeisha Meyer, Education
Berhanu Nega, Economics
James Orr, East Asian Studies
David Rovnyak, Chemistry
Lori Smolleck, Education


Places I've Been

The following links are virtual breadcrumbs marking the 27 most recent pages you have visited in If you want to remember a specific page forever click the pin in the top right corner and we will be sure not to replace it. Close this message.