Cadigan Prize for Younger Writers

The Cadigan Prizes for Younger Writers is judged each year by recent contributors to West Branch, Bucknell's professional literary journal, and recognizes outstanding works of poetry and prose by Bucknell undergraduates. First and second place prizes, as well as honorable mentions, are awarded in each of two genres: prose, which includes both fiction and creative nonfiction, and poetry. The awards are made possible by the generous support of Robb Cadigan '86 and his wife, Joan Daughen Cadigan '86.

2014 Winners

The 2014 poetry judge was poet Cynthia Cruz, author of the books Ruin and The Glimmering Room. The prose judge was Roxane Gay, most recently the author of the novel An Untamed State and the essay collection Bad Feminist. Poetry prizes are awarded for an entire manuscript and prose prizes for a single short story or essay.

Kiara Huertas '14
First Place Prize, Prose

"Ghostwhistle" (Poems)
Daniel Haney '14
First Place Prize, Poetry

 "Emergencies," "Plugged," and "Mark Calls 911" (Linked Stories)
Alexandra Napoli '15
Second Place Prize, Prose

 "As Fact" (Poems)
Cameron Norsworthy '15
Second Place Prize, Poetry

Jonathan Moseley '15
Honorable Mention, Prose

To submit literary work for the 2014-15 Cadigan Prizes, please use the Stadler Center Application Portal. (All submissions must be received via the portal; we no longer accept paper submissions.) The deadline for the 2014-15 prizes is Tuesday, Dec. 9. Notification is in January.

Julia Fonville Smithson Memorial Prizes

The Julia Fonville Smithson Memorial Prize, established in the memory of a Bucknell graduate who died in 1977, awards prizes in poetry, fiction, and creative nonfiction. The winning manuscripts are selected each year by an outside judge appointed by the Department of English, which administers the prize.

2014 Winners

The 2014 Smithson Memorial Prizes were judged by poet Carolina Ebeid, 2012–14 Stadler Fellow, and fiction writer Alexander Lumans, Spring 2014 Philip Roth Resident in Creative Writing.

"Beyond the Break: Waterhood and Development"
Somer Dice '16
Nonfiction Winner

"Why I Should Not Have Done What I Did"
Andrew Romer '15
Fiction Winner

"Ten Riparian Poems"
Molly Brown '15
Poetry Winner

For information on submitting to the Smithson Prize, please contact the Department of English.

Annual Student Reading

Each year the Annual Student Reading gathers the winners of the two contests for a formal reading in Bucknell Hall. The winners are announced early in the spring semester.


Places I've Been

The following links are virtual breadcrumbs marking the 27 most recent pages you have visited in If you want to remember a specific page forever click the pin in the top right corner and we will be sure not to replace it. Close this message.