Since its initiation in 1981, the Poet-in-Residence program has brought writers of national and international renown for an extended stay during the spring semester. The Poet-in-Residence teaches a master class for qualified students, gives a public reading and a lecture or Q&A session, and otherwise serves as an active presence on campus. The program honors the acheivement of a distinguished poet while providing undergraduate writers the opportunity to work with that poet.

Recent Poets-In-Residence include Natasha Trethewey, currently serving as U.S. Poet Laureate, Mark Doty, winner of the 2008 National Book Award for Poetry, and Terrance Hayes, winner of the 2010 National Book Award for Poetry. See below for a full list of former Poets-in-Residence.

Poets are chosen by invitation only; the Stadler Center does not accept applications for this position.



Dean Young
Poet-in-Residence 2013–14
January 27 - February 5, 2014


Dean Young was born in Columbia, Pennsylvania, and received his MFA from Indiana University. Recognized as one of the most energetic, influential poets writing today, his numerous collections of poetry include Strike Anywhere (1995), winner of the Colorado Prize for Poetry; Skid (2002), finalist for the Lenore Marshall Poetry Prize; Elegy on Toy Piano (2005), finalist for the Pulitzer Prize; and Primitive Mentor (2008), shortlisted for the International Griffin Poetry Prize.  He has also written a book on poetics, The Art of Recklessness: Poetry as Assertive Force and Contradiction (2010). Young has taught at the Iowa Writers' Workshop, the low-residency MFA program at Warren Wilson College, and the University of Texas-Austin, where he holds the William Livingston Chair of Poetry.

Poetry Workshop with Dean Young

During his two-week stay as Poet-in-Residence, Young will offer a poetry workshop for qualified Bucknell students. The workshop, which is not for academic credit, is open to undergraduate and graduate students on an application basis. The workshop is limited to twelve students.

If you are interested in applying for the workshop, please email Stadler Center Director Shara McCallum with an explanation of why you would like to participate and a 5-10 page sample of your poetry (attached as a single Word doc or PDF). The application deadline is Friday, December 6.

The workshop will meet twice:

Monday, February 4 (7-10 p.m.)
Monday, February 11 (7-10 p.m.)

Please note that the writing sample you send will be used as workshop course materials. Copies of each student's poems will be circulated to all members of the workshop.


Events for Dean Young

Poetry Reading

Tuesday, January 28, 2014
7 p.m. Bucknell Hall

Conversation and Q&A
Tuesday, February 4, 2014
12 noon, Walls Lounge, Langone 213

Both events are free and open to the public.



Former Poets-in-Residence

1981-82 Carolyn Kizer
1982-83 Maxine Kumin
1983-84 Hayden Carruth
1984-85 Karl Shapiro
1985-86 Mary Oliver
1986-87 Wendell Berry
1987-88 Madeline DeFrees
1988-89 Irving Feldman
1989-90 Jean Valentine
1990-91 Louis Simpson
1991-92 Colette Inez
1992-93 Molly Peacock
1993-94 Gerald Stern
1994-95 Bruce Smith
1995-96 William Matthews
1996-97 Afaa M. Weaver
1997-98 Tess Gallagher
1998-99 Peggy Shumaker
1999-00 Linda Gregg
2000-01 John Haines
2001-02 Betsy Sholl
2002-03 Sonia Sanchez
2003-04 Liliana Ursu
2004-05 Michael Waters
2005-06 Carol Frost
2006-07 Marilyn Chin
2007-08 James Harms
2008-09 Nance Van Winckel
2009-10 Tim Seibles
2010-11 Natasha Trethewey
2011-12 Mark Doty
2012-13 Terrance Hayes


Places I've Been

The following links are virtual breadcrumbs marking the 27 most recent pages you have visited in If you want to remember a specific page forever click the pin in the top right corner and we will be sure not to replace it. Close this message.