Named for Bucknell's renowned literary alumnus and initiated in the fall of 1993, the Philip Roth Residence in Creative Writing offers up to four months of unfettered writing time for a writer working on a first or second book. In alternate years, the residency is awarded to poets and writers of prose (fiction or creative nonfiction). The residency provides lodging in Bucknell's "Poets' Cottage" and a stipend of $4,000.

We now offer two residencies each year, one each in Bucknell's fall and spring semesters. Applications for the following academic year are due in late winter each year.  At that time, applicants may apply to be considered for either the fall or spring residency, or for both. The fall residency extends from late August to mid-December; the spring residency from mid-February to late May.

Recent Roth Residents who have published books subsequent to the Residence include Eduardo Corral (Slow Lightning, Yale University Press), Michelle Hoover (The Quickening, Other Press), Beth Martinelli (To Darkness, Finishing Line Press), Emily Rapp (Poster Child: A Memoir, Bloomsbury), and Rajesh Parameswaran (I Am An Executioner: Love Stories, Knopf).

In the spring semester of 2014, the Stadler Center will accept applications for the 2014-15 Philip Roth Residencies, which will be awarded to poets. The application deadline is February 1, 2014. For eligibility and application requirements, and to submit an application, please use the SCP Application Portal, at right. The portal will be open for applications in fall 2013.



Tennessee Jones
Philip Roth Residence in Creative Writing, Fall 2013


Tennessee Jones, Philip Roth Resident in Creative Writing for 2013-14, is the author of the Lambda Literary Award nominated collection Deliver Me From Nowhere, a "cover" of Bruce Springsteen's Nebraska. He is the recipient of awards from the Jacob K. Javits Foundation, the Christopher Isherwood Foundation and Hunter College, where he received his MFA in Fiction in 2010. He was also the George Bennett Fellow (Writer in Residence) at Philips Exeter Academy 2010-11. His short fiction and essays have appeared in various journals and anthologies. His current novel in progress is about generational trauma in an Appalachian town notorious for two brutal incidents: the hanging of an elephant and the expulsion of its entire black population. He grew up in the hollers of East Tennessee and currently lives in Brooklyn.



Alexander Lumans
Philip Roth Residence in Creative Writing, Spring 2014

Alexander Lumans graduated from the M.F.A. Fiction Program at Southern Illinois University, Carbondale. He has been awarded fellowships to the MacDowell Colony, Blue Mountain Center, ART342, and Norton Island Residency. He received scholarships to Bread Loaf, RopeWalk, and the Sewanee Writers' Conference, where he was a Tennessee Williams Scholar. He received the 2013 Gulf Coast Fiction Prize, third place in the 2012 Story Quarterly Fiction Contest, and the 2011 Barry Hannah Fiction Prize from The Yalobusha Review. His fiction has appeared or is forthcoming in Story Quarterly, Gulf Coast, Blackbird, Cincinnati Review, and The Normal School, among others. He is co-editor of the anthology Apocalypse Now: Poems and Prose from the End of Days (December 2012, Upper Rubber Boot Books).

Roth Resident Events

Tuesday, October 8, 2013
Prose & Poetry Reading: Tennessee Jones & Justin Boening
12 noon, Walls Lounge, Langone 213

Tuesday, February 18, 2014
Prose & Poetry Reading: Alexander Lumans & Ross Gay
7 p.m. Bucknell Hall

The readings are free and open to the public.


Former Philip Roth Residents

1993-94 Blake Maher (fiction)
1994-95 Roger Fanning (poetry)
1995-96 Pamela Leri (fiction)
1996-97 Joe Wenderoth (poetry)
1997-98 Rhonda Claridge (fiction)
1998-99 Adrian Oktenberg (poetry)
1999-00 Tom Franklin (fiction)
2000-01 Ron Mohring (poetry)
2001-02 Junse Kim (fiction)
2002-03 Brian Teare (poetry)
2003-04 Michelle Hoover (fiction)
2004-05 Melora Wolff (poetry)
2005-06 Emily Rapp (fiction)
2006-07 Beth Martinelli (poetry)
2007-08 Rajesh Parameswaran (fiction)
2008-09 Eduardo Corral (poetry)
2009-10 Mike Scalise (prose)
2010-11 Leslie Harrison (poetry)
2011-12 Smith Henderson (prose)
2012-13 Justin Boening (poetry)


Places I've Been

The following links are virtual breadcrumbs marking the 27 most recent pages you have visited in If you want to remember a specific page forever click the pin in the top right corner and we will be sure not to replace it. Close this message.