The Cadigan Prizes for Younger Writers, judged each year by recent contributors to West Branch, Bucknell's professional literary journal, recognize outstanding works of poetry and prose by Bucknell undergraduates. First and second place prizes, as well as honorable mentions, are awarded in each of two genres: prose, which includes both fiction and creative nonfiction, and poetry. The awards are made possible by the generous support of Robb Cadigan '86 and his wife, Joan Daughen Cadigan '86.

The Julia Fonville Smithson Memorial Prize, established in the memory of a Bucknell graduate who died in 1977, also awards prizes in poetry, fiction, and creative nonfiction. The winning manuscripts are selected each year by an outside judge appointed by the English Department.

Each year the Annual Student Reading gathers the winners of the two contests for a formal reading in Bucknell Hall. The winners are announced early in the spring semester.

To submit literary work for the 2013–14 Cadigan Prizes, please use the Stadler Center Application Portal, at right. (All submissions must be received via the portal; we no longer accept paper submissions.) The deadline for the 2013–14 prizes is December 10, 2013. Notification is in January. The portal will be open for submissions in late fall, 2013.

For information on submitting to the Smithson Prize, please contact the English Department.


Cadigan Prize for Younger Writers 2012–13

This year’s poetry judge was poet Kathryn Nuernberger, author of the book Rag & Bone. The prose judge was fiction writer Michael Czyzniejewski, author of two story collections, Elephants in Our Bedroom and Chicago Stories. Poetry prizes are awarded for an entire manuscript and prose prizes for a single short story or essay.

First Place Prize

Joseph  M. Verica '13, poetry
"Don't Let Their Bodies Indoors if
 Saturated (with Chroma): Tint, Tone, 
or Tint-tone; a Short Collection of Soundbiguous Poetics"

Victoria Moyer '13, prose

"In Case You Were Worried"

Second Place Prize

Dan Haney '14, poetry

"Skipping Your Funeral" and Other Poems

Beth Ann Eanelli '13, prose

"Polepole. Pole Sana."

Honorable Mention

Vincent Fasanello '14, poetry
"How Long Can One Exist without Form" and Other Poems

Patrick Reilly '13, prose

"Lost in Buenos Aires"

Rachel Hannon '16, prose

"The Distance to Heaven"


Julia Fonville Smithson Memorial Prizes 2013

This year's Smithson Memorial Prizes were judged by poet Sascha Feinstein, author of Mysterioso and Ajanta's Ledge, and novelist Christopher Coake, author of You Came Back and We're In Trouble.

Fiction Winner
Katrina Medoff '13

Nonfiction Winner
Julia Quinn '14
"The Escapee"

Poetry Winner
Lauren Feldman '14
"Waimanalo, Hawai'i, 2008" & Other Poems

Honorable Mention, Nonfiction
Kiara Huertas '14
"Mommy's Dimples"

Honorable Mention, Fiction
George Hickman '13
"The Demolition of Gavin Davison"

Honorable Mention, Poetry
Daniel Haney '14
"Skipping Your Funeral" & Other Poems




Places I've Been

The following links are virtual breadcrumbs marking the 27 most recent pages you have visited in If you want to remember a specific page forever click the pin in the top right corner and we will be sure not to replace it. Close this message.