Bucknell University awards honorary degrees to recognize individuals whose work exemplifies the qualities of intellect, character, and creativity so highly valued by the University. Special consideration is given to those individuals whose distinguished contributions have not been widely or formally recognized outside their own fields and to individuals who are part of the Bucknell community.

Nominations will be accepted on a rolling basis year-round from members of the Bucknell community, including faculty, staff, students, trustees, alumni, and friends using the online Nomination Form: http://my.bucknell.edu/x59554.html

Individuals who do not have Bucknell login credentials should email their nominations and related material to provostsoffice@bucknell.edu.

Nominations for honorary degrees must include:

  • A letter no longer than two pages explaining why the nominee should be considered for an honorary degree.
  • Biographical information on the nominee (including education, positions held, accomplishments, honors, and awards)

Nominations may also include letters of support, published articles about the nominee, or other supporting documentation (not required).

Questions should be directed to provostsoffice@bucknell.edu.