Our University brings Bucknell to the world and the world to Bucknell, including speakers from all disciplines who help make this connection.

Departments across the University's curriculum regularly host outstanding speakers, including various colloquia in the humanities, society and technology, and social science, as well as other disciplines, that bring nationally and internationally renowned guests to campus to talk with students and the campus community about issues affecting our world.

Janet Weis Fellow in Contemporary Letters

The Janet Weis Fellow in Contemporary Letters is an award given biannually to honor and recognize an individual who represents the very highest level of achievement in the craft of writing within the realms of fiction, non-fiction, or biography. The award was established in 2002.Recent recipients have been author Elizabeth Kolbert, poet Rita Dove, historian Robert A. Caro, playwright Edward Albee, novelist John Edgar Wideman, and biographer David McCullough.