Doctor of Science, 2014

David Boger ’61

David Boger '61 graduated from Bucknell with a degree in chemical engineering and holds a doctorate in chemical engineering from the University of Illinois. He is a professor of chemical and biomolecular engineering at the University of Melbourne and Monash University in Melbourne, Australia. Over a lifetime of pioneering work in fluid dynamics, Boger discovered constant-velocity elastic liquids, known as Boger fluids. He received the 2005 Prime Minister's Science Award, Australia's highest honor for excellence in science.

Doctor of Humane Letters, 2013

Shirley Ann Jackson

Shirley Ann Jackson, the president of Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, earned her doctorate in elementary particle physics from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. She is an influential leader and scholar in academe, research, government and industry, with special policy interest in diversity, education and research in the STEM fields.

Doctor of Humane Letters, 2010

Martha Nussbaum

An expert in classical Greek and Roman philosophy and literature, Martha Nussbaum received her bachelor's from New York University and her master's and doctorate from Harvard. She has taught at Harvard, Brown and Oxford universities and holds the position of Ernst Freund Distinguished Service Professor of Law and Ethics at the University of Chicago. Nussbaum is widely celebrated as a leading public intellectual and champion of the humanities.

Doctor of Humane Letters, 2010

John Zeller ‘41

John F. Zeller has, by his lifetime of service, been instrumental in positioning Bucknell University as a prestigious national institute of higher learning.

As an outstanding undergraduate, John immersed himself in the broad academic and residential opportunities of Bucknell. As a veteran of World War II and the Korean War, he defended his country with honor and merit. And as an alumnus and administrative leader, he dedicated his time, wisdom and expertise to ensuring the excellence of a Bucknell University education for generations of students.

Doctor of Humane Letters, 2010

Robert C. Rooke

Robert C. Rooke received his bachelor's and master's of business administration from Dartmouth and went on to build a career in investments. As one of Bucknell's most generous donors, Rooke has supported numerous buildings on campus. He is also a trustee emeritus with more than two decades of active Board service. For his leadership and loyalty, Rooke in 1997 received the Stephen W. Taylor Medal, Bucknell's highest honor.

Doctor of Humane Letters, 2009

Elie Wiesel

Humanitarian and Holocaust survivor Elie Wiesel has written more than 60 books, including the acclaimed 1960 novel Night, based upon his experience as a prisoner in the Auschwitz, Buna and Buchenwald concentration camps. He is the Andrew W. Mellon Professor of the Humanities at Boston University and president of the Elie Wiesel Foundation for Humanity. In recognition of his global activism, education and advocacy, Wiesel was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize in 1986.

Doctor of Humane Letters, 2009

Lauren "Larry" Breakiron '52, GP'09

Lauren "Larry" Breakiron '52, GP'09 and University trustee emeritus, studied mechanical engineering at Bucknell and earned his master of science in industrial engineering from Columbia University.  A retired vice president with United Parcel Service, he was the lead donor for the construction of the Breakiron Engineering Building. Breakiron's generosity also helped establish Bucknell's Institute for Leadership in Technology and Management (ILTM) as part of the Lauren P. Breakiron Technology and Management Fund.

Doctor of Humane Letters, 2009

Gary Sojka

Gary Sojka, Bucknell's 13th president, led the University from 1984 to 1995 and oversaw the first complete overhaul of the curriculum in nearly 50 years. A graduate of Coe College and Purdue University, he is a former dean of arts and sciences at Indiana University. Sojka's expertise as an educator has been recognized with numerous awards. He serves as the honorary chairman of We Do, The Campaign for Bucknell University.

Doctor of Humane Letters, 2008

David McCullough

David McCullough is a leading American historian and the author of numerous bestsellers, including John Adams and 1776. A graduate of Yale University, he received the Presidential Medal of Freedom, the Pulitzer Prize, the National Book Award and the Francis Parkman Prize. In recognition of his literary achievements, Bucknell named McCullough its 2008 Janet Weis Fellow in Contemporary Letters.

Doctor of Humane Letters, 2008

Janet Weis

A regional patron of the arts, education and medicine, Janet Weis was a Bucknell trustee emerita and loyal supporter of the University. Her generosity made possible the Sigmund and Claire Weis Center for the Performing Arts and the Sigfried Weis Music Building. In recognition of her leadership and service, Bucknell in 2003 awarded her the Stephen W. Taylor Medal, the University's highest honor. Weis passed away in 2011.

Doctor of Science, 2008

David Scadden '75

David Scadden '75 earned his bachelor's degree in English from Bucknell and his medical degree from Case Western Reserve University. A Bucknell trustee, he is a widely published scholar and a world leader in stem-cell research. Scadden is co-founder of the Harvard Stem Cell Institute, co-chair of the Department of Stem and Regenerative Biology at Harvard and director of the Center for Regenerative Medicine at Massachusetts General Hospital.

Honorary Degree Nomination Form

Ready to nominate someone? Please use our Nomination Form.


Places I've Been

The following links are virtual breadcrumbs marking the 27 most recent pages you have visited in If you want to remember a specific page forever click the pin in the top right corner and we will be sure not to replace it. Close this message.