Stadler Fellowships

Since 1998, the Stadler Fellowships have offered recent MFA graduates in poetry the opportunity to receive professional training in editing and literary arts administration. Beginning in the 2021-22 academic year, the program will be divided into two distinct tracks: a fellowship in literary editing and a fellowship in literary arts administration. Applicants can apply to one or the other. Both fellowships are designed to balance the development of professional skills with time to complete a first book of poems. Fellows serve for 20 hours each week during the academic year. The balance of the fellows’ time is reserved for writing. The 10-month fellowships provide health insurance and a stipend of at least $33,000.

Stadler Fellowship: Literary Arts Administration

The Stadler Fellow in Literary Arts Administration is a key player in the execution of the Stadler Center's programs and advises the Center's leadership on new and existing initiatives. The literary arts administration fellow contributes to campus and regional outreach efforts, leads a faculty/staff poetry reading group, serves on selection committees, and oversees the Stadler Center's new letterpress printing project, administered in conjunction with Bucknell's Art & Art History Department. In June, the fellow serves together with the Stadler Fellow in Literary Editing as a staff poet in the Bucknell Seminar for Undergraduate Poets, the Center's signature summer program that draws some of the nation's most accomplished undergraduate poets.

Stadler Fellowship: Literary Editing

The Stadler Fellow in Literary Editing serves as a poetry editor for West Branch, Bucknell's nationally-recognized literary journal. The editorial fellow screens poetry submissions, serves on the editorial committee, assists in proofreading, and, optionally, compiles a special poetry feature for the journal. The fellow may also contribute to other Stadler Center editorial projects. In June, the fellow serves together with the Stadler Fellow in Literary Arts Administration as a staff poet in the Bucknell Seminar for Undergraduate Poets.

Since these are residential fellowships, we expect fellows to live in the immediate Lewisburg area; to hold no other professional, academic, or fellowship obligations; and to participate fully in the life of the Bucknell literary community during the fellowship period.

Several recent Stadler Fellows have published books or received other honors subsequent to their fellowships, including Will Schutt (Westerly, Yale Prize for Younger Poets); Jamaal May (Hum, Beatrice Hawley Award, Alice James Books), Carolina Ebeid (You Ask Me to Talk About the Interior, Noemi Press), Justin Boening (Not On the Last Day, But On the Very Last; National Poetry Series, Milkweed ), Chet'la Sebree (Mistress, New Issues Poetry Prize), E.G. Asher (Natality, Noemi Press), and Monica Sok (A Nail the Evening Hangs On, Copper Canyon).

In fall 2020, the Stadler Center will accept applications for the 2021-22 Stadler Fellowships. Application information will appear on this page beginning in summer 2020.

Current Stadler Fellows

Noah Baldino

Noah Baldino is a queer trans poet and editor. Their poems and reviews can be found in PoetryKenyon ReviewBlack Warrior ReviewIndiana Review and elsewhere.

Noah Baldino
Maggie Millner

Maggie Millner

Maggie Millner, 2019-20 Stadler Fellow, is a poet and teacher from rural upstate New York. Her poems have appeared in The New Yorker, Ploughshares, Gulf Coast, The Iowa Review and elsewhere. She has received awards and fellowships from The Cincinnati Review, Narrative, Poets & Writers, the Fine Arts Work Center and the Sewanee Writers' Conference. Maggie holds degrees in creative writing from NYU and Brown and teaches in the Writing Program at Rutgers University.

Former Stadler Fellows

  • 2018-19 Leslie Sainz and Jan Verberkmoes
  • 2016-18 David Winter
  • 2016-17 Monica Sok
  • 2015-16 Emily Means
  • 2014-16 Chet'la Sebree
  • 2013-15 Justin Boening
  • 2012-14 Carolina Ebeid
  • 2011-13 Jamaal May
  • 2010-12 Diana Park
  • 2009-11 Will Schutt
  • 2008-10 K. A. Hays
  • 2007-09 Erinn Batykefer
  • 2005-07 Betsy Wheeler
  • 2003-05 Rebecca Warner
  • 2001-03 Ron Mohring
  • 1999-2001 Michael Carlin
  • 1998-99 Kathy Murphy

Stadler Center for Poetry & Literary Arts


Bucknell Hall