Sojka Visiting Poet Series

The Sandra and Gary Sojka Visiting Poet Series was established in 1995 through the generosity of Gary Sojka, who served as Bucknell University's president from 1985–95, and his wife, Sandra. The Sojka Visiting Poet Series brings a distinguished poet to Bucknell for a visit each fall. In addition to presenting a reading, the Sojka poet meets in an informal venue with students and other members of the Bucknell community.

Poets are chosen by invitation only; the Stadler Center for Poetry does not accept applications for this position.

2019-20 Sojka Visiting Poet

Ada Limón

Ada Limón is the author of four books of poetry, including Bright Dead Things, which was named a finalist for the 2015 National Book Award in Poetry, a finalist for the Kingsley Tufts Poetry Award, a finalist for the 2015 National Book Critics Circle Award and one of the Top Ten Poetry Books of the Year by The New York Times. Her other books include Lucky WreckThis Big Fake  World  and Sharks in the Rivers. She serves on the faculty of Queens University of Charlotte Low Residency MFA program and the 24Pearl Street online program for the Provincetown Fine Arts Work Center. She also works as a freelance writer splitting her time between Lexington, Ky., and Sonoma, Calif. 

Learn more about Ada 


Related Events

  • Poetry Reading: Tuesday, Nov. 12, at 7 p.m. Weis Center
  • Q&A: Wednesday, Nov. 13, at noon in LC Forum (ELC 272). A buffet lunch will be provided.

These events are free and open to the public. 

Check out other Stadler Center events

Former Sojka Visiting Poets

2018-19 Anne Carson
2017-18 Carolyn Forché
2016-17 Jane Hirshfield
2015-16 Cole Swensen
2014-15 Kendel Hippolyte 
2013-14 Marilyn Hacker
2012-13 Naomi Shihab Nye
2011-12 Tony Hoagland
2010-11 Carl Phillips
2009-10 Baron Wormser
2008-09 Adam Zagajewski
2007-08 Robin Becker
2006-07 Cornelius Eady
2005-06 Philip Appleman
2004-05 Elizabeth Alexander
2003-04 Stephen Dunn
2002-03 Maxine Kumin
2001-02 Paul Muldoon
2000-01 Robert Pinsky
1999-00 Eavan Boland
1998-99 John Haines
1997-98 Lorna Goodison
1996-97 Donald Justice
1995-96 Ellen Bryant Voigt

Stadler Center for Poetry & Literary Arts


Bucknell Hall