For twenty nine years, through a variety of activities, the Bucknell Association for the Arts has stimulated, supported, and celebrated endeavors in the arts on campus and in the larger community. In order to honor members of the Bucknell community who have devoted themselves to the arts as creators, performers, or supporters, the Association has established the Association for the Arts Academy of Artistic Achievement.

Each year after careful evaluation, an Elections Committee may elect new members to the Academy by written ballot. The new members will be inducted in an annual ceremony. Except under unusual circumstances, those who are so honored will be expected to be present for induction. The Elections Committee, consisting of seven members chosen by the Executive Committee, compiles a list of candidates for consideration. Normally no more than three members a year will be elected to the Academy. (An artistic group constitutes one member.) Alumni who have gone from Bucknell for five years and present or former faculty and staff of the University are eligible for election.

Recent Award Winners

2015: Todd Rosenlieb '89
2014: Lois Svard, Professor Emerita (music)
2013: Charles Collier '91
2012: Edward L. '58 and Marthann (Lauver) '60 Samek
2011: Mako Fujimuro '83
2010: Richard A. Humphrey '74
2009: Robert C. Mandel '67
2008: William C. Westenhofer '90
2007: Betsy K. Powers
2007: James H. Turnure, Professor Emeritus (art)

See more recipients of academy of artistic achievement award.