Since its initiation in 1981, the Poet-in-Residence program has brought writers of national and international renown for an extended stay during the spring semester. The Poet-in-Residence teaches a master class or meets individually with qualified students, gives a public reading and a lecture or Q&A session, and otherwise serves as an active literary presence on campus. The program honors the achievement of a distinguished poet while providing undergraduate writers the opportunity to work with that poet.

Among our recent Poets-In-Residence are Mark Doty, Terrance Hayes, Dean Young, Chase Twichell, Claudia Rankine, and Mary Ruefle. See below for a full list of former Poets-in-Residence.

Poets are chosen by invitation only; the Stadler Center does not accept applications for this position.

2017-18 Poet-in-Residence

Camille Dungy

Related Events

  • Poetry Reading: Tuesday, Feb. 6 at 7 p.m. in Bucknell Hall
  • Q&A: Thursday, Feb. 8 at noon in Walls Lounge (ELC 213); buffet lunch provided

Both events are FREE and open to the public.

Camille T. Dungy

Camille T. Dungy is the author of four books of poetry, most recently Trophic Cascade (Wesleyan University Press, 2017), and the book of essays Guidebook to Relative Strangers: Journeys Into Race, Motherhood and History (W.W. Norton 2017). She is the editor of Black Nature: Four Centuries of African American Nature Poetry and co-editor of the poetry anthology From the Fishouse.

Camille T. Dungy's honors include an American Book Award, two Northern California Book Awards, two NAACP Image Award nominations, and a California Book Award silver medal. She is the recipient of fellowships and grants from the National Endowment for the Arts, The Sustainable Arts Foundation, and other organizations.

Dungy is currently a Professor in the English Department at Colorado State University.

Former Poets-in-Residence

2016-17 Mary Ruefle
2014-15 Chase Twichell
2013-14 Dean Young
2012-13 Terrance Hayes
2011-12 Mark Doty
2010-11 Natasha Trethewey
2009-10 Tim Seibles
2008-09 Nance Van Winckel
2007-08 James Harms
2006-07 Marilyn Chin
2005-06 Carol Frost
2004-05 Michael Waters
2003-04 Liliana Ursu
2002-03 Sonia Sanchez
2001-02 Betsy Sholl
2000-01 John Haines
1999-00 Linda Gregg


1998-99 Peggy Shumaker
1997-98 Tess Gallagher
1996-97 Afaa M. Weaver
1995-96 William Matthews
1994-95 Bruce Smith
1993-94 Gerald Stern
1992-93 Molly Peacock
1991-92 Colette Inez
1990-91 Louis Simpson
1989-90 Jean Valentine
1988-89 Irving Feldman
1987-88 Madeline DeFrees
1986-87 Wendell Berry
1985-86 Mary Oliver
1984-85 Karl Shapiro
1983-84 Hayden Carruth
1982-83 Maxine Kumin
1981-82 Carolyn Kizer


Places I've Been

The following links are virtual breadcrumbs marking the 27 most recent pages you have visited in If you want to remember a specific page forever click the pin in the top right corner and we will be sure not to replace it. Close this message.