Cadigan Prize for Younger Writers

The Cadigan Prize for Younger Writers is judged each year by recent contributors to West Branch, Bucknell's professional literary journal, and recognizes outstanding works of poetry and prose by Bucknell undergraduates. First and second place prizes, as well as honorable mentions, are awarded in each of two genres: prose, which includes both fiction and creative nonfiction, and poetry. The awards are made possible by the generous support of Robb Cadigan '86 and his wife, Joan Daughen Cadigan '86.


Judges for the 2016-17 Cadigan Prizes were Gina Franco (poetry) and Katharine Haake (fiction and creative nonfiction). Gina Franco, author of the book of poetry The Keepsake Storm, teaches at Knox College in Galesburg, Illinois. Katharane Haake is the author of the novel The Time of Quarantine and other works of fiction and teaches at California State University, Northridge.


Judged by Gina Franco 

First Place: Daniel Barnum-Swett '17

Second Place: Lauren Hudson '18

Honarable Mention: Emily Pursel '20


Judged by Katharine Haake

First Place: Jordan Walker '17

Second Place: Leslie Markevitch '18

Honorable Mentions: Celina C. Antonellis '18 and Emily Ryan '18

Annual Student Reading

Join us on Tuesday, April 24, 2018

Each year the Annual Student Reading in April gathers the winners of the Cadigan Prizes for Younger Writers and the Julia Fonville Smithson Memorial Prize for a formal reading in Bucknell Hall.


Places I've Been

The following links are virtual breadcrumbs marking the 27 most recent pages you have visited in If you want to remember a specific page forever click the pin in the top right corner and we will be sure not to replace it. Close this message.