February 08, 2018, BY Michelle Choe '18

The winners of the 2017-18 Cadigan Prize for Younger Writers
The winners of the 2017-18 Cadigan Prize for Younger Writers, from left: Mukta Phatak '18, Tucker Leighty-Phillips '18, Jordan Ferrari '20 and Lauren Hudson '18. Photo by Emily Paine, Communications

The annual Cadigan Prize for Young Writers recognizes Bucknell students who submit outstanding works in poetry, fiction and nonfiction prose. Open to undergraduates of any major and minor, the competition receives dozens of submissions each year. Recent contributors to West Branch, Bucknell's professional literary journal, judge the submitted work.

liana Rocha, author of Karankawa, judged poetry and named the following winners:

Siamak Vossoughi, author of Better than War: Stories, chose the winning entries for prose:

  • 1st place: Tucker Leighty-Phillips '18, English-literary studies
  • 2nd place: Jordan Ferrari '20, undeclared 
  • Honorable mention: Natalya "Sasha" Carpenter '19, English-creative writing and Russian studies

"It's an annual thrill for students and faculty to learn the winners of the Cadigan Prizes," said Katie Hays, interim director of the Stadler Center for Poetry. "The judges are authors outside of Bucknell who don't know any of the students they're reading. This should give undergraduate writers a sense of validation from the literary world beyond our campus community."

The Cadigan Prize is presented by the Stadler Center and West Branch,  and is made possible through the continued support of Robb '86 and Joan Daughen Cadigan '86.

Join the winners of the 2017-18 Cadigan Prize and the Julia Fonville Smithson Memorial Prize for a live reading of their pieces at the Stadler Center's Annual Student Reading on Tuesday, April 24, at 5 p.m. in Bucknell Hall.

Meet last year's Cadigan Prize winners.