Bucknell established the Janet Weis Fellow in Contemporary Letters in 2002 to honor and recognize individuals who represent the highest level of achievement in the craft of writing within the realms of fiction, non-fiction or biography. 

The Weis Fellowship was established through a grant from the Degenstein Foundation in honor of Janet Weis, an author, civic leader and philanthropist as well as trustee emerita of the University. Her husband, Sigfried Weis, was chair of the Bucknell Board of Trustees from 1982 to 1988.

Recipients are:

2011: Robert A. Caro
2010: Edward Albee
2009: John Edgar Wideman
2008: David McCullough
2007: Derek Walcott
2006: Joyce Carol Oates
2005: Tom Wolfe
2004: Salman Rushdie
2003: John Updike
2002: Toni Morrison


Places I've Been

The following links are virtual breadcrumbs marking the 27 most recent pages you have visited in Bucknell.edu. If you want to remember a specific page forever click the pin in the top right corner and we will be sure not to replace it. Close this message.