Contemporary Irish Writers

About this image: "Carraroe" is used by permission of the artist, Gráinne Dowling.

The energy and enthusiasm that currently characterize Irish Studies has persuaded Bucknell University Press to commence a new series of books of shorter, affordable, accessible, though intellectually serious studies of the most significant contemporary Irish authors. Such books, in the range of 150-200 pages in length and prepared by recognized experts in Irish Studies, bring a newer, more theoretically-informed perspective to the tried-and-true format established by the earlier Bucknell Irish Writers series, providing an introduction to a single author's life and work and a general discussion of interpretive issues and strategies for understanding this work. We envision such a series as one for a sophisticated but not solely professorial audience--that is, for advanced undergraduates, graduate students, and independent readers and scholars as well as the Irish Studies professoriate.

Titles in the series:

Neil Murphy. John Banville (2018)

Borbála Faragó. Medbh McGuckian (2014)

Jody Allen Randolph. Eavan Boland (2013)

Richard Rankin Russell. Bernard MacLaverty (2009)

John Benignus Lyons. Oliver St. John Gogarty (1999)

Eileen Sullivan. Thomas Davis (1978)

James H. Matthews. Frank O'Connor (1976)

Dr. Richard M. Kain and Dr. James H. O'Brien. George Russell (A.E.) (1976)

Robert E. Lougy. Charles Robert Maturin (1975)

Edwin J. Kenney Jr.. Elizabeth Bowen (1975)

Arthur E. McGuinness. George Fitzmaurice (1975)

Donna Gerstenberger. Iris Murdoch (1975)

Frank L. Kersnowski. John Montague (1975)

Zack Bowen. Mary Lavin (1975)

Darcy O'Brien. Patrick Kavanagh (1975)

Robert Buttel. Seamus Heaney (1975)

Alan Warner. William Allingham (1975)

Daniel J. Casey. Benedict Kiely (1974)

Jeanne Flood. Brian Moore (1974)

Gareth W. Dunleavy. Douglas Hyde (1974)

Grace Eckley. Edna O'Brien (1974)

J. H. Natterstad. Francis Stuart (1974)

Douglas N. Archibald. John Butler Yeats (1974)

Marilyn Gaddis Rose. Katharine Tynan (1974)

D. E. S. Maxwell. Brian Friel (1973)

George Brandon Saul. Daniel Corkery (1973)

Hazard Adams. Lady Gregory (1973)

Dr. James H. O'Brien. Liam O'Flaherty (1973)

James Newcomer. Maria Edgeworth (1973)

Grattan Freyer. Peadar O'Donnell (1973)

Malcolm Brown. Sir Samuel Ferguson (1973)

Robert Hogan. Eimar O'Duffy (1972)

Robert Skelton. J. M. Synge (1972)

Robert Hogan. Mervyn Wall (1972)

John Cronin. Somerville and Ross (1972)

Dr. Richard M. Kain. Susan L. Mitchell (1972)

Michael H. Begnal. Joseph Sheridan LeFanu (1971)

Paul A. Doyle. Paul Vincent Carroll (1971)

George Brandon Saul. Seumas O'Kelly (1971)

James Kilroy. James Clarence Mangan (1970)

Bernard Benstock. Sean O'Casey (1970)

Phillip L. Marcus. Standish O'Grady (1970)

Darcy O'Brien. W. R. Rodgers (1970)


Places I've Been

The following links are virtual breadcrumbs marking the 12 most recent pages you have visited in If you want to remember a specific page forever click the pin in the top right corner and we will be sure not to replace it. Close this message.