Please note: You are viewing an archived Bucknell University news story. It is possible that information found on this page has become outdated or inaccurate, and links and images contained within are not guaranteed to function correctly.

[X] Close this message.

LEWISBURG, Pa. -- A 2008 Olympian, three swimmers, a field hockey star and a record-setting distance runner encompass the 30th Bucknell Athletics Hall of Fame class, committee chair Gene Depew announced.

The six-person Class of 2008 will be formally inducted during Homecoming Weekend ceremonies on Oct. 25, and they will be re-introduced at halftime of the Bucknell-Colgate football game that afternoon.

This year’s class includes two first-ballot Hall of Famers from the Class of 1998.

One is basketball star J.R. Holden, who has parlayed an outstanding overseas professional career with powerful CSKA Moscow into a chance to play with the Russian national team at next month’s Summer Olympics in Beijing. Swimming standout Jen Myers also received a Hall of Fame nod in her first year on the ballot.

The other inductees are swimmers Steve Winings ’74 and Jay Gross ’93, field hockey standout Almira Baldwin Arnold ’94, and Judy Perry West ’90, who still holds the school record in the 10,000-meter run.

This will be the second time that three women have been inducted in the same class. The other was in 2000, when Gabrielle Czaja, Pam Heller Shassian and Lynne Walshaw were elected together. Baldwin Arnold, who will be the first member of this class officially inducted because her name comes first alphabetically, will have the honor of being Bucknell’s 200th Hall of Famer.

Established in 1979 
The Bucknell Athletics Hall of Fame was established in 1979 to honor the very best in the history of Bison athletics. This year’s induction brings to 205 the number of outstanding student-athletes, coaches, administrators and friends of Bucknell whose contributions to Bucknell athletics are forever preserved in the Hall of Fame.

Read complete story and biographies.

Contact: Division of Communications