January 20, 2009

Please note: You are viewing an archived Bucknell University news story. It is possible that information found on this page has become outdated or inaccurate, and links and images contained within are not guaranteed to function correctly.

[X] Close this message.

LEWISBURG, Pa. — Bucknell University welcomes the activation of the Rho Iota chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Inc., beginning this spring semester.

The Rho Iota chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Inc. includes members from Bloomsburg, Bucknell and Susquehanna universities. Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Inc. is a member of the National Pan-Hellenic Council (NPHC), which includes nine traditionally African-American fraternities and sororities.

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Inc. was founded and incorporated in 1913 at Howard University in Washington, D.C.

Public service
The basic and continuing thread of the organization’s public service program is its five-point project in which each chapter develops action programs in response to local needs. These five points are educational development, economic development, community and international development, housing and urban development, and mental health.

The sorority has initiated more than 250,000 members and currently has close to 950 active chapters. Its headquarters is in Washington, D.C.

Contact: Division of Communications