January 29, 2009

Please note: You are viewing an archived Bucknell University news story. It is possible that information found on this page has become outdated or inaccurate, and links and images contained within are not guaranteed to function correctly.

[X] Close this message.

By Kathryn Kopchik

LEWISBURG, Pa. — The Czech Symphony Orchestra will perform a concert on Friday, Feb. 6, at 8 p.m. in the Weis Center for the Performing Arts at Bucknell University. Tickets for the concert, which includes works by Martinu, Bruch and Smetana, are $25.

Pianist Paavali Jumppanen"Joining principal conductor Theodore Kuchar are Jennifer Frautschi on violin and Paavali Jumppanen on piano," said Bill Boswell, executive director of Bucknell's Weis Center. "Jumppanen has graciously agreed to step in to replace Derek Han, who is indisposed.

"The capstone of the evening will be three of the large, romantic, and popular tone poems from Smetana's masterwork 'Ma Vlast' ('My fatherland'), including the one that is an overwhelming favorite of audiences the world over, 'The Moldau,'" said Boswell. "This beloved and iconic Czech masterpiece will surely be raised to a higher dimension in a performance by a great Czech orchestra.

"Pianist Paavali Jumppanen, already here for a three-week residency including several solo concerts, will be featured in another Czech work, Martinu's 'Concerto for Two String Orchestras, Piano and Timpani'," Boswell continued.

Violinist Jennifer Frautschi"The outstanding and young violinist Jennifer Frautschi will perform as soloist in another romantic crowd-pleaser, Bruch's Violin Concerto in G Minor, Opus 26," he said.

Foremost orchestra
The Czech Symphony Orchestra, also called the Janacek Philharmonic Orchestra of Ostrava, was established in 1954 and quickly became one of the foremost orchestras in the country.

Beginning with its first tour abroad in 1958, the orchestra has performed in significant concerts and international festivals around the world, including performances in Europe, Japan, South Korea, Taiwan and the United States.

Since the 1990s, the orchestra has devoted itself to the interpretation of national and international "new music," efforts that include leading summer festivals and workshops in Ostaba attended by many young performers from around the world

Ticket info
Tickets for this Weis Center series performance are available in person from the Campus Box Office in the Weis Center weekdays from 11 a.m. to 5 p.m., or at the Bucknell University Bookstore on the ground floor of the Elaine Langone Center weekdays from 9 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. For advance tickets, call 570-577-1000 or visit www.bucknell.edu/Boxoffice. The box office in the Weis Center lobby opens one hour prior to performances.

This concert is presented by Bucknell University in memory of Ronald J. "Pete" Pedrick and is made possible in part by the endowment established in his name.

Additionally, this performance is made possible by generous contributions from Phyllis and Norman Rich, and Sandy and Gary Sojka. The 2008-09 season of Weis Center Events is generously supported by grants from the Bucknell University Association for the Arts and the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania Council on the Arts in conjunction with the National Endowment for the Arts, a federal agency. Additional support for the series is provided by numerous and generous private donors including members of the Weis Center Green Room Circle and Green Room Board.
Coming events in the Weis Center series include a free family matinee, "Jazz for Kids!" on Saturday, Feb. 7, at 1 p.m. with the David Leonhardt Jazz Group, and a solo concert with pianist Paavali Jumppanen on Feb. 21, at 8 p.m. including sonatas by Beethoven and Liszt and pieces by the Finnish composer Jouni Kaipainen. Tickets for the Feb. 21 concert are $20.

Contact: Division of Communications


Places I've Been

The following links are virtual breadcrumbs marking the 27 most recent pages you have visited in Bucknell.edu. If you want to remember a specific page forever click the pin in the top right corner and we will be sure not to replace it. Close this message.