April 23, 2009

Please note: You are viewing an archived Bucknell University news story. It is possible that information found on this page has become outdated or inaccurate, and links and images contained within are not guaranteed to function correctly.

[X] Close this message.

By Kathryn Kopchik

LEWISBURG, Pa. — Thirty Bucknell University students and a faculty member were recognized recently at the annual Student Leadership Awards event.

"These notable student leaders represent a diversity of initiatives, interests, and accomplishments," said Amy Badal, assistant dean of students at Bucknell.

"Their achievements range from working with Bicycles Against Poverty and the Hurricane Katrina Recovery efforts to the American Cancer Society and the Bucknell Brigade," she  said.

'Missing Seeds'
The Student Organization Award was given to the "Missing Seeds" production team: seniors Christian Etherton, Connie Low and Alex Madsen, juniors Emily Rath and Lauren Weinstein, and sophomores Kylie Brandt, Grace Han and Muyambi Muyambi.

"Missing Seeds" is a documentary about the effects of banned pesticide on banana workers in Nicaragua.

Leading individuals
Individual leadership categories, winners and some of their campus activities included:

• Emerging Leader Award: sophomore Nadia Sasso, for her involvement in Common Ground, a student-led diversity retreat, as well as a campus-wide discussion of recent speakers;

• Civility and Respect Award: senior Mahdi Woodard, for his work as a tutor at local schools and his involvement in Common Ground;

• Bridge-Builder Award: junior Scott Teagarden, for his involvement in Common Ground as well as a campus-wide discussion of recent speakers;

• Change Agent Award: sophomore Muyambi Muyambi, for his involvement with Bicycles Against Poverty, Child Soul and the Gulu Walk;

• Community Outreach Award: senior Dan Ryan for his work with the Katrina Recovery team;

• Student Leadership Mentor Award: seniors Jordan Franklin and Sarah Surgala; Franklin has been active with the Bison Bikes program, and Surgala served as coordinator of the new student orientation program;

• Class Awards of Excellence: first-year student Kopano Majara, active with the Common Ground and Emerging Leaders programs; sophomore Ali Jones, vice president of operations with the Bucknell Student Government (BSG); junior Cindy Siu, secretary of Student Emergency Response Volunteers; and senior Alison Cutting, president of Activities and Campus Events and BSG member.

Bison Award
In addition to individual awards, 18 seniors received the Bison Award for Excellence in Co-Curricular Activities: Casey Bryant, Alexandra Campbell-Ferrari, Alison Cutting, William Frake, Jordan Franklin, Emily Haley, Robert Hallinan, Zafrullah Kamar, Harry Kastenbaum, Loretta Miller, Kim Reynolds, Stephanie Rink, James Ritter, Dan Ryan, Sarah Surgala, Joseph Valickus, Jessica Vooris and Mahdi Woodard.

James Peterson, assistant professor of English, also received the Leadership Mentor Award at the awards ceremony, which was held April 19.

Contact: Division of Communications


Places I've Been

The following links are virtual breadcrumbs marking the 27 most recent pages you have visited in Bucknell.edu. If you want to remember a specific page forever click the pin in the top right corner and we will be sure not to replace it. Close this message.