May 15, 2009

Please note: You are viewing an archived Bucknell University news story. It is possible that information found on this page has become outdated or inaccurate, and links and images contained within are not guaranteed to function correctly.

[X] Close this message.

By Heather Johns

LEWISBURG, Pa. — The Bucknell University Alumni Association has announced its 2009 Alumni Association Award recipients, who will be honored on May 30 at the Reunion Rally as part of Reunion Weekend in the Weis Center for the Performing Arts.

The Alumni Award recipients represent a strong loyalty to Bucknell and the world around them, and this year's group is no different, said Laura Denbow, executive director, Alumni Relations and Career Services. "Their experiences, both personally and professionally, showcase what's best about Bucknell, and put forth a standard that students and alumni can aspire to meet," Denbow said. "We're proud of all of these alumni."

"Making the initial selection for this year's award recipients was not an easy task," said Gail Brown, Class of '69 and chair of the Alumni Association Awards Committee. "But as I gathered more and more information about each of our honorees, I became so impressed by how they have used their Bucknell education as a springboard to become such leaders and achievers,"

• Stuart E. Berelson, who graduated in 1959 with a degree in political science, will receive the Loyalty to Bucknell Award. He is counsel with the New York law firm of Wormser, Kiely, Galef & Jacobs and his law career spans 47 years. Berelson served as a member of Bucknell's National Committee on Annual Giving and is the former director of the Alumni Association. A member of Bucknell's Board of Trustees, he chairs the risk management committee. He has served as president and vice president of the Alumni Club of Greater New York, and donated the Judaica Collection of the Bertrand Library in honor of his parents. Two of Berelson's four children are Bucknell graduates.

• Ronald Billings, who graduated summa cum laude in 1969 with a degree in chemical engineering, will receive the Outstanding Achievement in a Chosen Profession Award. Billings worked his way up through the ranks at Mobil Corp., Mobil Oil Canada and ExxonMobil during his 40-year career. Immediately after graduating from Bucknell, he began work as a process engineer for Mobil Corp. As the vice president of ExxonMobil gas marketing, he is responsible for worldwide Liquefied Natural Gas business. 

• James Nevels, a 1974 graduate with degrees in political science and philosophy, will receive the Service to Humanity Award. He earned both an MBA from the Wharton School and a law degree from the University of Pennsylvania in 1978. In 2001, he was appointed to the School Reform Commission charged by the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania Education Secretary to revive the troubled Philadelphia School District and served until 2007. He is the non-executive chairman of the board of the Hershey Company and has served on the board since November 2007. He is also a director of the Tasty Baking Co., the Pro Football Hall of Fame and the Hershey Trust.

• Katie Malague, a 1994 graduate with degrees in history and education, will receive the Young Alumni Award. She has held various positions working for politicians, including U.S. Sen. Frank Lautenberg and Gov. Howard Dean, and earned a master's in educational policy from Harvard University. A senior program manager for the Partnership for Public Service, Malague is the coordinator of the Presidential Management Initiative and served on the Obama-Biden Transition Project. She was president of the Boston and Washington, D.C., alumni clubs and has served as co-chair of the Council of Club Presidents. In 2006, she joined the Bucknell Alumni Association Board of Directors on which she serves as chair of the Clubs and Young Alumni Committee.

"I am consistently impressed by the accomplishments of our alumni," said Richard Humphrey, Class of '74 and president of Bucknell's Alumni Association. "However, I am staggered by these few champions of unparalleled excellence who have built monuments upon the foundation of their four years at Bucknell.

Contact: Division of Communications