May 26, 2009

Please note: You are viewing an archived Bucknell University news story. It is possible that information found on this page has become outdated or inaccurate, and links and images contained within are not guaranteed to function correctly.

[X] Close this message.

By Kathryn Kopchik

LEWISBURG, Pa. — Bucknell University will host Reunion Weekend May 28 through 31, with thousands of alumni planning to return to the campus.

Bucknellians who return to campus may participate in a variety of activities including a discussion of the campus master plan and open houses for alumni at the Environmental Center and the Stadler Center for Poetry. In addition, there will be children's activities, an alumni lacrosse match, and gatherings for fraternities, sororities, athletics and other Bucknell groups.

There will be a free, public fireworks display Saturday, May 30, at 10:30 p.m. (weather permitting.) Spectators may view the fireworks from the Academic Quad in front of Bertrand Library.

Parking will be available in the farm lot off Seventh Street or above the stadium. Dent Drive between Seventh Street and the stadium will be closed from 9 to 11:30 p.m.

Karen Landis, manager of major campus engagements at Bucknell,  said, "The fireworks have become a tradition at Reunion; we're very excited to be able to invite the community to be part of this tradition," she said.

Reunion Rally for alumni
A highlight of the annual Reunion Rally for returning alumni will be a theatrical, musical and multimedia production featuring Bucknell students and celebrating alumni in the Weis Center for the Performing Arts.

In addition to the theatrical performance, the Alumni Association will honor its four 2009 award recipients through a combination video and in-person celebration during the Rally, which is not open to the general public.

Honored this year are Stuart E. Berelson, who graduated in 1959 with a degree in political science, who will receive the Loyalty to Bucknell Award; Ronald Billings, who graduated summa cum laude in 1969 with a degree in chemical engineering, who will receive the Outstanding Achievement in a Chosen Profession Award; James Nevels, a 1974 graduate with degrees in political science and philosophy, who will receive the Service to Humanity Award; and Katie Malague, a 1994 graduate with degrees in history and education, who will receive the Young Alumni Award. For more information about alumni award winners, see

Contact: Division of Communications