September 20, 2010

Please note: You are viewing an archived Bucknell University news story. It is possible that information found on this page has become outdated or inaccurate, and links and images contained within are not guaranteed to function correctly.

[X] Close this message.

LEWISBURG, Pa. — Fourteen faculty members earned tenure this year, an achievement celebrated by the Bucknell community at large. || Full professor profiles || New tenure-track faculty profiles

"Tenure really is a milestone in an individual's career development and in the institution's development," says Provost Mick Smyer. "It's a 30- to 40-year commitment to the faculty member; it is saying to the faculty member and to the community that we want this person to continue to bring his or her talents and energy to the University throughout their career. We obviously take that decision very seriously."

Many of this year's newly tenured faculty members also are bringing their talents to the world. With research programs spread from Sri Lanka to the Arctic and from Sudan to Italy, these global interests provide an opportunity for Bucknell's students to experience and participate in today's international working environment.

"Bucknell understands that we are educating young women and men for a globally interconnected world, and therefore both in the classroom and off campus, they need to be comfortable in being citizens in that globally interconnected world," Smyer says. "Many of our faculty, through study abroad or through their own research or both, model how to be engaged in a globally interconnected world for our students."

Follow the links below to read their stories. || All student, faculty and alumni profiles

Peter Brooksbank
Department of Mathematics

Isabel Cunado
Department of Spanish

John Enyeart
Department of History

Amy Golightly
Department of Education

Matthew Heintzelman
Department of Biology

Michael Johnson-Cramer
Department of Management

Kelly Knox
Department of Theatre and Dance

Bernhard Kuhn
Department of Foreign Languages

Matthew McTammany ’95
Department of Biology

Felipe Perrone
Department of Computer Science

Susan Reed
Department of Women's and Gender Studies

DeeAnn Reeder
Department of Biology

Ned Searles
Department of Sociology and Anthropology

Mala Sharma
Department of Mechanical Engineering

Contact: Division of Communications