April 07, 2011

Please note: You are viewing an archived Bucknell University news story. It is possible that information found on this page has become outdated or inaccurate, and links and images contained within are not guaranteed to function correctly.

[X] Close this message.

By Kathryn Kopchik

LEWISBURG, Pa. — The Small Business Development Center (SBDC) at Bucknell University will offer the workshop, "Emergency Planning for Small Businesses" on Wednesday, April 13, from 8:30 to 11:30 a.m. at the offices of the American Red Cross, 249 Farley Circle, Brookpark Farm, in Lewisburg.

Annie Smith, disaster services coordinator, will lead the discussion of several aspects of emergency management, including: how to analyze your business risk from man-made and natural disasters; how to create plans to allow your business to keep running; how to keep employees healthy and sustain market share; and basic American Red Cross first aid and CPR information (but not certification).

As the disaster services/communications director at the American Red Cross, Union County, Smith is responsible for the planning and execution of disaster services in Union County and works closely with the local county emergency management agency. The Red Cross is responsible for all aspects of mass care (feeding and shelter) during any type of disaster.

Registration for this workshop is $20; registration is required as seating is limited. To register, call the SBDC at 570-577-1249; e-mail SBDC@bucknell.edu, or visit www.bucknell.edu/script/sbdc/register.asp. Veterans may attend at no charge.

Co-sponsors of the Bucknell University SBDC's education programs are the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania Department of Community and Economic Development; Brush Valley, Central Pennsylvania, Greater Susquehanna Valley, Middlecreek Valley and Perry County Chambers of Commerce; The Daily Item; Standard-Journal; and Inc. and Susquehanna Business Life magazines.

The Bucknell SBDC provides free small business consulting services to residents of Juniata, Montour, Northumberland, Perry, Snyder and Union counties.

Contact: Division of Communications