February 27, 2012

Please note: You are viewing an archived Bucknell University news story. It is possible that information found on this page has become outdated or inaccurate, and links and images contained within are not guaranteed to function correctly.

[X] Close this message.

By Kathryn Kopchik

LEWISBURG, Pa. — The Small Business Development Center (SBDC) at Bucknell University will offer the workshop, "Emergency Planning for Small Businesses" on Wednesday, March 21, from 8:30 to 11:30 a.m. at the offices of the American Red Cross, 249 Farley Circle, Brookpark Farm, in Lewisburg.

Anne Smith, communications coordinator with the SUN Area chapter of the American Red Cross, will lead the discussion of several aspects of emergency management, including: how to analyze your business risk from man-made and natural disasters; how to create plans to allow your business to keep running; how to keep employees healthy and sustain market share; and basic American Red Cross first aid and CPR information (but not certification).

Smith is responsible for the planning and execution of disaster services in Union County and works closely with the local county emergency management agency. The Red Cross is responsible for all aspects of mass care (feeding and shelter) during any type of disaster.

Registration for this workshop is $20; registration is required as seating is limited. To register, call the SBDC at 570-577-1249; e-mail SBDC@bucknell.edu, or visit www.bucknell.edu/script/sbdc/register.asp. Veterans may attend at no charge. Participants will receive a one-year subscription to Inc. magazine

Co-sponsors of the Bucknell University SBDC's education programs are the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania Department of Community and Economic Development; Brush Valley, Central Pennsylvania, Greater Susquehanna Valley, Middlecreek Valley and Perry County Chambers of Commerce; Watsontown Area Business Association; The Daily Item; Standard-Journal; and Inc. magazine.

The Bucknell SBDC provides free small business consulting services to residents of Juniata, Montour, Northumberland, Perry, Snyder and Union counties.

Contact: Division of Communications