Mission & Purpose

The President's Diversity Council is an advisory and leadership team responsible for developing, overseeing and monitoring University-wide efforts to achieve Bucknell's commitment to diversity as a core institutional and educational value. The Council's overarching focus is to enhance and maintain Bucknell's efforts to ensure that all students graduate with knowledge, skills, and habits of mind necessary for making thoughtful, responsible contributions in a diverse, globally integrated world. Directly tied to this is a focus on establishing and maintaining a thriving, inclusive campus climate that values all faculty, students and staff members.

Specifically, the Council develops and oversees the implementation of Bucknell's Strategic Plan for Diversity; assesses, monitors and reports on progress toward achieving strategic diversity goals; and reviews and revises (as needed) Bucknell's diversity goals and strategies. Primary areas of focus include (1) diversity of the faculty, staff, and student bodies; (2) campus culture and climate; (3) curricular and co-curricular diversity-centered learning opportunities; and (4) institutional practices and policies.

The Council recognizes the importance of sharing information as well as soliciting and responding to feedback from members of the campus community. As advocates for diversity, inclusiveness and equity, the Council values and promotes cross-campus collaboration; consults with faculty, staff and campus offices; and regularly supports and participates in diversity enrichment opportunities.

President's Diversity Council

Amy BadalAmy Badal, Dean of Students
Denelle BrownDenelle Brown, Associate Dean of Students
Bill ConleyBill Conley, Vice President for Enrollment Management
Georgina DodgeGeorgina Dodge, Associate Provost for Diversity, Equity & Inclusion
Carmen GillespieCarmen Gillespie, Professor of English; Director of the Griot Institute
Michael JamesMichael James, Associate Professor of Political Science
Pierre JoanisPierre Joanis, Vice President for Human Resources
Maisha KellyMaisha Kelly, Senior Associate Athletics Director
William KennyWilliam Kenny, Professor of Music, Chair of the Faculty 
Patrick T. MatherPatrick T. Mather, Dean of the College of Engineering
Karl VossKarl Voss, Dean of the College of Arts & Sciences
John C. BravmanJohn C. Bravman, President