President’s Diversity Council

The President's Diversity Council is an advisory and leadership team responsible for developing, overseeing and monitoring University-wide efforts to achieve Bucknell's commitment to diversity as a core institutional and educational value. 

The council's main focus is to enhance and maintain Bucknell's efforts to ensure that all students graduate with knowledge, skills and habits of mind necessary for making thoughtful, responsible contributions in a diverse, globally integrated world. Directly tied to this is a focus on establishing and maintaining a thriving, inclusive campus climate that values all faculty, students and staff members.

Specifically, the council is charged with: 

  • Developing and overseeing the implementation of Bucknell's Strategic Plan for Diversity.
  • Assessing, monitoring and reporting on progress toward achieving strategic diversity goals.
  • Reviewing and revising (as needed) Bucknell's diversity goals and strategies. 

Primary areas of focus include:

  • Diversity of the faculty, staff and student bodies.
  • Campus culture and climate.
  • Curricular and co-curricular diversity-centered learning opportunities.
  • Institutional practices and policies.

The council recognizes the importance of sharing information as well as soliciting and responding to feedback from members of the campus community. As advocates for diversity, inclusiveness and equity, the council values and promotes cross-campus collaboration; consults with faculty, staff and campus offices; and regularly supports and participates in diversity-enrichment opportunities.

Council Members 

John C. Bravman

Elisabeth Mermann-Jozwiak

Nikki Young
Associate Provost for Equity & Inclusive Excellence
Associate Professor of Women's & Gender Studies and Religion

Jocelyne Scott
Director of Equity & Inclusive Excellence

Raquel Alexander
Dean, Freeman College of Management

Erin Jablonski
Interim Dean, College of Engineering

Karl Voss
Dean, College of Arts & Sciences

Lisa Keegan
Vice President for Enrollment Management

Pierre Joanis
Vice President for Human Resources

Amy Badal
Dean of Students 

Denelle Brown
Associate Dean of Students for Diversity & Inclusion

Samantha Hart
Director of Institutional Equity, Title IX Coordinator

Jennifer Kentera
Senior Associate Athletics Director, Leadership Development

Coralynn Davis 
Faculty Chair and Professor of Women's and Gender Studies

M. Laura Beninati
Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering

Obed Lira
Assistant Professor of Spanish


President’s Diversity & Inclusion Awards

The annual President's Diversity & Inclusion Awards recognize significant contributions to the University's efforts to build and nurture an inclusive campus community. Criteria for selection include:

  • Achieving an aspect of The Plan for Bucknell's Enhancing Diversity strategy.
  • Promoting student learning related to Bucknell University's Educational Goal No. 3: Develop knowledge and skills for interpreting the commonalities and differences among human societies, including diverse cultural perspectives and traditions within the United States and internationally, to enable living and working effectively in a global context.
  • Implementing an aspect of Bucknell's 2014-19 Diversity Plan (such as addressing campus demographics and retention; climate and culture; student learning; and/or practices, policies and accountability).
  • Enhancing diversity and inclusion.

2020–21 Award Winners

Student: Jasmine Minhas '22, French, political science and history
Faculty: Eddy Lopez, art & art history; and Eddy Ng, management
Staff: Maisha Kelly, senior associate director for Athletics
Collaborative Group: Operation HUnGER (Matt Brown '20, Julian Ricketson '21, Ralph Corbelle '21, Silja Hilton '22, Professor Sue Ellen Henry and L&IT specialist Leslie Harris)
Office or Program: International Student Services

Contact Details

Office of the President


220 Marts Hall