Bucknell Honors Staff with Geiger and Zeller Awards

May 26, 2015

Five members of the Bucknell University staff have been honored at the annual presentation of the Geiger and Zeller Awards.

Geiger Awards
The Walter C. Geiger Memorial Award recognizes members of the administrative staff who demonstrate sustained excellence and embrace Bucknell University's core competencies in the conduct of their administrative responsibilities. The award honors the late Walter C. Geiger, director of facilities.

Recipients of the 2015 Geiger Awards were Matt Lamparter, director of the electrical engineering labs, and Vince Pellegrini, assistant registrar for academic scheduling.

Lamparter was recognized for playing a pivotal role in the department's six-year ABET accreditation, for managing two student laboratory renovations and for ensuring that labs are safe and accessible.

Pellegrini, who oversees the University's academic scheduling process, was lauded for proactively anticipating problems as well as acting quickly and efficiently, all while remaining generous, kind and responsive to the needs of everyone who works with him.

Zeller Awards
The John F. Zeller Memorial Award for support staff excellence honors the late John F. Zeller, former vice president for business and fiscal affairs and general counsel emeritus. The award recognizes support staff who demonstrate consistent excellence in the conduct of their responsibilities.

Recipients of the 2015 Zeller Awards were Angela Fritzges, academic assistant to the School of Management; Candice McGaw, executive assistant to the Dean of Engineering; and Stewart Smith, trades technician for Facilities.

Fritzges, who oversees the daily operations of the School of Management, is the lead organizer for the School's participation in admissions events in addition to supporting the faculty members and handling grant proposals and budgets. She was lauded for her adept handling of a staggering number of essential and diverse tasks.

McGaw, who manages key College admissions programs, supports the Alumni Association Board of Directors and coordinates donor stewardship, was cited for balancing multiple demands, including playing a major role in the Dean's office space redesign and in launching the Entrepreneurship & Innovation Affinity House.

Smith, who has been with the University for 40 years, handles diverse special requests ranging from hanging artwork to designing solutions for the animal behavior lab as well as driving the shuttle for special events including Reunion and Admissions weekends.

Also recognized at the staff picnic were Steve Stumbris, director of the Bucknell Small Business Development Center, who received a Master of Professional Studies degree in Community and Economic Development from Penn State University; and Ann James, visiting assistant professor of geography, who received a Ph.D. in geography from Penn State University.

In addition, Emerging Leaders were recognized. They were: Denise Beck, academic assistant for computer Science in the College of Engineering; Pat Brantlinger, custodial section supervisor with Facilities; David Eckley, manager of electrical systems and projects with Facilities; Lois Engle, engineering operations administrator and manager for engineering external relations in the College of Engineering; Wanda Feese, duplicating services team leader with Publications, Print & Mail; Jennifer Harper, associate director of technology infrastructure and user services with L⁢ Todd Hower, utility plant supervisor with Facilities; Ray Kacyon, facilities designer and system coordinator with Facilities; Rob Kaleta, assistant director of operations with L⁢ Lea Anne Marie, custodial section supervisor with Facilities; Rhonda Miller, assistant director of development, capital campaign proposals and endowment agreements with Development & Alumni Relations; Trace Nevil, staff sergeant with Public Safety; Isabella O'Neill, head of Special Collections and University Archives with L⁢ Mary Schramm, custodial section supervisor with Facilities; Deb Smith, custodial section supervisor with Facilities; Vincent Stephens, director of Multicultural Student Services; and Missy Wray, custodial section supervisor with Facilities.