Honorary Degrees

Bucknell awards honorary degrees to individuals whose work exemplifies the qualities of intellect, character and creativity so highly valued by the University. Special consideration is given to those whose distinguished contributions have not been widely or formally recognized outside their own fields and to individuals who are part of the Bucknell community.

Nomination Process

Nominations for honorary degrees are accepted on a rolling basis year-round from members of the Bucknell community, including faculty, staff, students, trustees, alumni and friends. To submit a name for consideration, please use the online nomination form.

Nominate someone for an honorary degree

Individuals who do not have Bucknell login credentials should email nominations and related materials to provostsoffice@bucknell.edu.

Nominations must include:

  • A letter no longer than two pages explaining why the nominee should be considered for an honorary degree.
  • Biographical information on the nominee (including education, positions held, accomplishments, honors and awards).

Optional nomination materials may include:

  • Letters of support.
  • Published articles about the nominee.
  • Other supporting documentation.

Questions should be directed to provostsoffice@bucknell.edu.

Recent Honorary Degree Recipients


David Boger ’61, pioneer of fluid dynamics, Doctor of Science


Shirley Ann Jackson, academic leader and scholar, Doctor of Humane Letters


Martha Nussbaum, philosopher and author, Doctor of Humane Letters
Robert C. Rooke, University trustee emeritus, Doctor of Humane Letters
John Zeller ’41, former Bucknell administrator, Doctor of Humane Letters 


Lauren “Larry” Breakiron ’52, GP’09, University trustee emeritus, Doctor of Humane Letters
Gary Sojka, 13th president of Bucknell, Doctor of Humane Letters
Elie Wiesel, humanitarian, author and Holocaust survivor, Doctor of Humane Letters


David McCullough, historian and author, Doctor of Humane Letters
David Scadden ’75, stem-cell researcher, Doctor of Science
Janet Weis, University trustee emerita, Doctor of Humane Letters

Contact Details

Office of the Provost


209 Marts Hall