Dublin Guitar Quartet


Dublin Guitar Quartet

Friday, Oct. 27, 7:30 p.m.
Weis Center Concert Hall

Described as a "quartet with a difference" by the Irish Times, the Dublin Guitar Quartet is the first classical guitar quartet entirely devoted to new music. Since its formation at the Dublin Conservatory of Music and Drama, the quartet has worked to expand the limited repertoire by commissioning new works and adapting modern masterpieces from outside of the guitar repertoire. With the help of eight- and eleven-string guitars, the quartet has created an original catalog of arrangements by composers such as Philip Glass, Steve Reich, Arvo Pärt, György Ligeti and many more.


At the Weis Center, they will present:

  • Bryce Dessner: "Aheym"
  • Wojciech Kilar: Orawa
  • Philip Glass: Piano Etudes 2, 9,16 & 20
  • Rachel Grimes: Book of Leaves
  • Marc Mellits: Titan (select movements)
  • Arvo Pärt: "Summa"
  • Philip Glass: String Quartet No. 3 "Mishima"

Dublin Guitar Quartet’s international touring is supported by Culture Ireland

Ticket Information

Adults: $25
Seniors 62+ and subscribers: $20
Youth 18 and under: $15
Bucknell employees and retirees (limit 2): $15
Bucknell students (limit 1): Free
Non-Bucknell students: $15

Campus Box Office


Buy a ticket for this performance

Sponsored, in part, by
Centre Daily Times Logo