Philip Roth Residence in Creative Writing

Named for Bucknell's renowned literary alumnus and initiated in fall 1993, the Philip Roth Residence in Creative Writing offers up to four months of unfettered writing time for a writer working on a first or second book of fiction or creative nonfiction. The residency provides lodging in Bucknell's "Poets' Cottage" and a stipend of $5,000.

In the spring semester of 2022, the Stadler Center will accept applications for the 2022–23 Roth Residences (Aug.–Dec. 2022 and Jan.–May 2023). The application deadline for both residencies is Feb. 1, 2022. Please note: The Roth Residence is no longer awarded to poets, only writers of fiction and/or literary nonfiction are eligible. 

Apply for the Phillip Roth residence program

2021-22 Philip Roth Residents

Fall 2021 Philip Roth Resident:

No Resident in Fall 2021.

Spring 2022 Philip Roth Resident:

Head shot of Andres Vaamonde

Andres Vaamonde graduated from Cornell University with a BA in English in 2018 and has worked as a bike delivery boy, a bricklayer, a volunteer firefighter, a writing tutor for incarcerated students, and, most recently, a literary book scout. He was named a Finalist in Ember Chasm Review’s Novel Contest and a Finalist for Key West Literary Seminar's Marianne Russo Award for Emerging Writers. He was born and raised in New York City.

Related Events

View the full list of Stadler events

Former Roth Residents

  • Spring 2021, Bonnie Chau (fiction)
  • Fall 2020, David Joseph (fiction)
  • Spring 2020, Leah Hampton (fiction)
  • Fall 2019, Monterica Sade Neil (nonfiction)
  • Spring 2019, Sophie Klahr (poetry)
  • Fall 2018, Aurora Masum-Javed (poetry)
  • Spring 2018, Meghan Lamb (prose)
  • Fall 2017, Ngwah Mbo-Nkweti (prose)
  • Spring 2017, Raena Shirali (poetry)
  • Fall 2016, Jessica Frank (poetry)
  • Spring 2016, Martha Park (prose)
  • Fall 2015, Christina Nichol (prose)
  • Spring 2015, Diana Khoi Nguyen (poetry)
  • Fall 2014, Corey Miller (poetry)
  • Spring 2014, Alexander Lumans (prose)
  • Fall 2013, Tennessee Jones (prose)
  • 2012-13 Justin Boening (poetry)
  • 2011-12 Smith Henderson (prose)
  • 2010-11 Leslie Harrison (poetry)
  • 2009-10 Mike Scalise (prose)
  • 2008-09 Eduardo Corral (poetry)
  • 2007-08 Rajesh Parameswaran (fiction)
  • 2006-07 Beth Martinelli (poetry)

Contact Details

Stadler Center for Poetry & Literary Arts


Bucknell Hall