Named for Bucknell's renowned literary alumnus and initiated in the fall of 1993, the Philip Roth Residence in Creative Writing offers up to four months of unfettered writing time for a writer working on a first or second book. In alternate years, the residency is awarded to poets and writers of prose (fiction or creative nonfiction). The residency provides lodging in Bucknell's "Poets' Cottage" and a stipend of $5,000.

In the spring semester of 2019, the Stadler Center will accept applications for the 2019-20 Philip Roth Residencies, which will be awarded to fiction/nonfiction writers. The application deadline is Feb. 1, 2019. For eligibility and application requirements, and to submit an application, please use the Stadler Center Application Portal.

2017-18 Philip Roth Residents

Ngwah-Mbo “Nana” Nkweti

Related Event

  • Fiction Reading: Tuesday, Aug. 29 at 7 p.m. Bucknell Hall

This event is FREE and open to the public.

Fall 2017 Philip Roth Resident

Ngwah-Mbo "Nana" Nkweti

Ngwah-Mbo "Nana" Nkweti is a Cameroonian-American writer, a graduate of the Iowa Writers' Workshop, Hub City Fall 2016 Writer-in-Residence and recipient of fellowships from MacDowell, Vermont Studio Center, Ucross, Kimbilio, Virginia Center for the Creative Arts and Clarion West Writers Workshop.

Her short story collection, Like Walking on Cowry Shells, focuses on the lives of hyphenated-Americans who share her multi-cultural heritage in the United States and Africa.

Meghan Lamb

Related Event

  • Fiction Reading and Q&A: Tuesday, Feb. 27 at noon in Walls Lounge (ELC 213); buffet lunch provided

This event is FREE and open to the public.

Spring 2018 Philip Roth Resident

Meghan Lamb

Meghan Lamb is from Chicago, Illinois. She holds an MFA from Washington University in St. Louis, where she served as an editorial assistant for Dorothy, A Publishing Project.

She is the author of the novel Silk Flowers (Birds of Lace, 2017) and the novella Sacramento (Solar Luxuriance, 2014). Her fictions and essays can be found in DIAGRAM, Redivider, Nat.Brut, The Collagist, The Rumpus, Passages North, PANK, and elsewhere.

Former Roth Residents

  • Spring 2017 Raena Shirali (poetry)
  • Fall 2016 Jessica Frank (poetry)
  • Spring 2016 Martha Park (prose)
  • Fall 2015 Christina Nichol (prose)
  • Spring 2015 Diana Khoi Nguyen (poetry)
  • Fall 2014 Corey Miller (poetry)
  • Spring 2014 Alexander Lumans (prose)
  • Fall 2013 Tennessee Jones (prose)
  • 2012-13 Justin Boening (poetry)
  • 2011-12 Smith Henderson (prose)
  • 2010-11 Leslie Harrison (poetry)
  • 2009-10 Mike Scalise (prose)
  • 2008-09 Eduardo Corral (poetry)
  • 2007-08 Rajesh Parameswaran (fiction)
  • 2006-07 Beth Martinelli (poetry)
  • 2005-06 Emily Rapp (fiction)
  • 2004-05 Melora Wolff (poetry)
  • 2003-04 Michelle Hoover (fiction)

Places I've Been

The following links are virtual breadcrumbs marking the 27 most recent pages you have visited in If you want to remember a specific page forever click the pin in the top right corner and we will be sure not to replace it. Close this message.